Hysterosalpingogram

I had my hysterogram or hysterosalpingogram or HSG a few weeks back. 

According to http://www.advancedfertility.com/hsg.htm, HSG test is a radiology procedure usually done in the radiology department of a hospital or outpatient radiology facility. Radiographic contrast (dye) is injected into the uterine cavity through the vagina and cervix. The uterine cavity fills with dye and if the fallopian tubes are open, dye fills the tubes and spills into the abdominal cavity. This shows whether the fallopian tubes are open or blocked and whether a blockage is at the junction of the tube and uterus (proximal) or at the other end of the tube (distal).

You can check out Youtube for video diagrams and get a better idea how exactly it works. 

Actually, a few years back, my friend Joy told me she had this procedure and said it was the worst she’s had! She told me she thought she was going to faint even if she was just lying down!

Another friend of mine, Tring, told me she had it too and it hurt. But she was sure it was bearable, she just didn’t do deep breathing and stuff. That was already a tip right there!

So it was my turn. I was going to have it done in St. Luke’s BGC. I researched a lot, and I took my antibiotics and pain relievers prescribed by Doc Debbie beforehand. I was super anxious. This procedure was going to be done without anesthesia! But I guess it was better without.

Oh, I forgot to say someone from SLMC BGC called me the day before to confirm, and also gave me a few reminders, like do as Doc Debbie instructed before the procedure, etc.

W and I were at Starbucks in SLMC BGC at 12nn. Someone from radiology called me again, and I told them I’m just at Starbucks for lunch. W didn’t want anything heavy so Starbucks was ok. He knew I was so anxious, and of course he’s my best supporting partner so I was ok.

We went to the Radiology Department at the ground floor. Got a number, paid and waited for Doc Debbie. I was asked a few questions by the nurses regarding my health history, stuff like that. Then I changed into the patient’s robe whatever you call it. The nurse asked me to lie down so we can check my position on the xray bed. They also told W to stay behind the glass to avoid radiation.

Boy was it cold in that room! I laid down there for a good ten minutes. W and I were just talking. He even took photos of the stuff that will be used for me.

 

hsg in slmc bgc

Relaxing before my HSG!

 
 
hsg slmc bgc

I tried not to panic hehe but it’s all good!

  
hsg slmc bgc

Without my feet this time! Almost ready for my HSG

 Doc Debbie arrived and we were on. Gotta hand it to Doc Debbie. She always makes you feel better, always good vibes. When we were starting she was making me small talk – how tall I am and if I played volleyball. I told her played soccer for a time in college. She put Betadine on my vagina so I wont get any infection. It was cold of course! And then I had all those things inserted to me. Widen my cervix or something. It’s uncomfortable but not painful. So I thought, okaaay.

And then she said she was going to insert the catheter. She did and then asked if I can handle it. No pain. So we proceeded. Doc Debbie said she was going to insert the dye. And it will feel a little uncomfortable. And it did. It felt like it was heavy. We were looking at the screen when the dye was flowing. Not too good. So Doc Debbie said I should try tilting to my right, I did and she said she will insert more dye. She did and oh my goodness! The pain was like that of my dysmenorrhea… Like when I just wanna go to the toilet and let it out but of course I cant! Doc Debbie saw that I was in real pain so she stopped it. But my xray was getting better. The dye flowed through my right tube. My left was still the same. I was still in pain, I was really cringing, trying hard not to do anything that might hurt me further or anyone for that matter (baka masipa ko si Doc or the nurse!). Doc Debbie said I should do deep breathing. Ah, just what Tring mentioned. It made it me feel better but the pain was still there. Doc Debbie said she wasnt doing anything anymore and the pain should subside already. I was still doing my deep breathing. And then the pain did slowly subside. But it was stil painful. My goodness.

Doc Debbie went to the little xray nook and discussed a few things with the radiologist. I was still calming myself down. W went beside me to check on me. I was shivering and I had the chills. Doc Debbie went to us and explained the results. I was still shivering and she noticed. I told her I was just cold.

So I dressed up. I brought my own pad but I still took the maternity pad given to me by the nurse. Wrong mistake but I guess it was ok, I needed something soft versus my ultra thin pad. My vag needed something soft to lie down on after that!

We sat outside and W was attending to our bills, talking to the nurse. I was still in pain. I felt so bad. I was still shaking. I wasnt even cold anymore. W noticed and asked what was going on. I said I was ok. But I was still really shaking,it wont stop. I felt that I was about to cry. I wasnt upset but I guess my body was so stressed. W left to go to the counter, I just texted him that I went to the rest room again. I didn’t cry. But I felt like throwing up. I did. And I forced myself to throw up some more, otherwise I’d feel bad still. I caught my breath and finally, I thought I was better. I stepped out and sat down and waited for W. I was so dizzy. We were still going to Doc Debbie’s clinic at the 5th floor and I felt so dizzy.

Doc Debbie said I was so pale. I told her I threw up and I was still a little dizzy. And the pain I felt during the insertion of the dye was like my really bad dysmenorrhea. She gave me a prescription for the pain, Dolcet.

If you’re reading this because you’re also getting a hysterogram, please don’t be discouraged or scared. I’ll be a hypocrite if I wont admit that I was scared. I really was. I don’t like pain. But my mindset the whole time was: I want to get pregnant. I want to bear children. Of course that means I have to give birth, and that is obviously painful! So I thought I should quit the drama. Take the pain, deal with it and move on. I wanted to know what was wrong with me and now I know. That pain isn’t even half of birth pains, I assume.

So please, don’t be discouraged. Don’t be scared. The pain is temporary and it might answer a lot of questions for you.

The damage:

  • Hysterosalpingogram – approx Php 3,088 (sorry I dont remember the exact amounts)
  • Doctor’s PF: Php 10,000
  • Misc … Operating room, etc: approx Pho 2,000
  • Radiologist PF: approx Php 2,000

Don’t forget to do deep breathing if you’re uncomfortable. Don’t forget to pray: when you’re scared, in pain, losing hope, relieved, feeling better, inspired, happy, hopeful … All the feeling in this roller coaster of a challenge in conceiving, always pray!

I’ll share with you one of my favorite prayers:

Dear God,

You know all things

You can do all things

And You love me.

Short yet concise πŸ˜‰

So, good luck and stay strong if you’re having an HSG. Better yet, let me know so I can include you in my prayers. You’re never alone in this kind of ordeal. πŸ˜‡

Leave a Reply

